About CSci


Institute of Physics withdraws from CSci

The Science Council was disappointed to receive notice from the Institute of Physics (IOP) of its intention to resign as a Licensed Body after the mandatory 12 month notice period now that the Chartered Scientist designation is well-established with around 15,000 Registrants through 20 Licensed Bodies across a the breadth of science and its applications.

Chartered Scientists registered through the Institute of Physics have a full 12 months from the cessation of the IOP licence to transfer their registration: assuming that the IOP does resign its licence (which it has not yet formally done) Registrants will have until December 2011 to transfer to another Licensed Body.  Registrants can transfer simply to any other Licensed Body of which they are an individual member: see the list of relevant contacts within Licensed Bodies.  Organisations with a strong overlapping interest and many members in common with IOP include the British Computer Society, the Energy Institute, the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications and the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine.

The Science Council is aware that it may not be possible for all IOP Registrants to readily transfer their status to another Licensed Body.  It is committed to ensuring that all professional scientists, including physicists, have a route to achieving and maintaining CSci status and that all IOP Registrants wishing to maintain their status on the register are able to do so.  We are developing new mechanisms for routes for awarding CSci, and we will post developments and further information on the website. 

If you have any concerns about how your CSci status is affected or would like to be kept updated, please let us know by contacting either Diana Garnham or Ali Orr.


Diana Garnham, Chief Executive and Registrar

Email Diana

Tel: 020 7922 7884 

Ali Orr, Deputy Registrar

Email Ali

Tel: 020 7922 7878

Andrew Wadge and Stephen Holgate gain CSci status

Professor Stephen Holgate, Chair of the Science Council Science in Health Group, and Dr Andrew Wadge, Chief Scientist at the Food Standards Agency, have become Chartered Scientists.

Dr Wadge is Chief Scientist at the Food Standards Agency, having previously worked for the Agency on issues including toxicology of food chemicals, allergy and food intolerance, and food additives.  Speaking after being awarded Chartered Scientist through the Institute of Food Science and Technology, Dr Wadge commented that he sees CSci as “a way of demonstrating that I am committed to using and communicating science to a high standard in the way that I approach my work as Chief Scientist today; that science for me remains robust, relevant and alive in how I work”.

Professor Holgate is an eminent scientist specialising in the immunological and inflammatory mechanisms of asthma.  As well as being Medical Research Council Professor of Immunopharmacology and Honorary Consultant Physician at Southampton University Hospital Trust, he is well known to the Science Council having chaired its Science in Health Group since 2005.  He achieved CSci through the Institute of Biomedical Science.  Professor Holgate is the first leading clinician to gain CSci status.

Since its inception in 2004, the Chartered Scientist designation has been awarded to over 15,000 people working across all fields of science.

Read Andrew Wadge's CSci profile here

FSA Chief's Scientist's blog (external site)

Professor Holgate's University of Southampton staff profile (external site)

Nuclear Institute becomes licensed

The Science Council is pleased to announce that it has granted the Nuclear Institute (NI) a licence to award Chartered Scientist (CSci) status to its members. The NI is already licensed by the Engineering Council and will now be able to provide parity of esteem to its scientist members who work alongside registered engineers. Diana Garnham, Chief Executive and Registrar of the Science Council, said of the award “The Nuclear Institute represents an industry that is very interdisciplinary in nature and hugely demanding of highly competent professionals with a dedication to CPD, so we are delighted to provide the Nuclear Institute with a means of recognising this.” NI’s Executive Secretary, Mark Askew commented that “since the Creation of the Nuclear Institute from the merger of the Institution of Nuclear Engineers (INucE) and the British Nuclear Energy Society (BNES) and the development of the NI’s ‘Nuclear Delta’, one of our key goals has been to achieve the status of a Licensed Body of the Science Council. This was done in order to provide the many scientists within the nuclear sector the opportunity to receive the recognition which comes from being chartered.” Increasing the number of Licensed Bodies is of fundamental importance in the pursuit to recognise the highest levels of professionalism and competence across the scientific community. Therefore the addition of the Nuclear Institute as the 24th Licensed Body is excellent news for the continued development and expansion of the CSci register. A list of all Licensed Bodies can be found here. Further information on the CSci benefits and standards can be found here.